Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Justin Jefferson, four QBs are finalists for MVP award

  • Updated
  • 0
NFL: Indianapolis Colts at Minnesota Vikings

Dec 17, 2022; Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA; Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson (18) reacts to his catch during the fourth quarter against the Indianapolis Colts at U.S. Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matt Krohn-USA TODAY Sports

Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson joins four quarterbacks as the finalists, announced Wednesday, for the Associated Press 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player award.

Three of the QBs are battling for Super Bowl LVII berths on Sunday, with Jalen Hurts of the Philadelphia Eagles and Joe Burrow of the Cincinnati Bengals joining 2018 MVP Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs. Josh Allen of the Buffalo Bills is also a finalist.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 receiving yards in his third season. The unanimous first-team All-Pro is trying to become the first wideout ever to win AP MVP honors, presented annually since 1957.

Quarterbacks have swept the last nine MVP awards and 14 of the last 15, with Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers taking home his third and fourth MVP trophies in 2020 and 2021.

Jefferson, Hurts and Mahomes are also finalists for Offensive Player of the Year.

The Defensive Player of the Year finalists are the San Francisco 49ers' Nick Bosa, the Chiefs' Chris Jones and Micah Parsons of the Dallas Cowboys.

Saquon Barkley of the New York Giants, Christian McCaffrey of the 49ers and Geno Smith of the Seattle Seahawks are up for Comeback Player of the Year.

The Giants' Brian Daboll, the 49ers' Kyle Shanahan and Doug Pederson of the Jacksonville Jaguars are the finalists for Coach of the Year.

The Offensive Rookie of the Year finalists are Brock Purdy of the 49ers, Kenneth Walker of the Seahawks and Garrett Wilson of the New York Jets.

Ahmad "Sauce" Gardner of the Jets, Aidan Hutchinson of the Detroit Lions and Seattle's Tariq Woolen are the Defensive Rookie of the Year finalists.

Up for Assistant Coach of the Year are Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Lions OC Ben Johnson.

The winners will be announced at the NFL Honors event on Feb. 9.

A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed the voting before the start of the playoffs.

This was the first year for the AP's new voting system. Voters chose a top five for MVP and a top three for all other awards. For MVP, first-place were worth 10 points. Second through fifth-place votes were worth five, three, two and one points.

For all the other awards, first-place votes equaled five points, second were three points and third were one point.

--Field Level Media


Originally published on, part of the TownNews Content Exchange.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

LOS ANGELES — It doesn't feel like 30 years. Not to Jim Kelly, Steve Tasker, Marv Levy or other members of the Buffalo Bills who three decades ago made it to four Super Bowls in a row yet didn't win one. To them, the years have whistled past with the screaming velocity of a Josh Allen spiral. But they are fans now, revered members of the Bills Mafia, cheering on a team that has a good chance ...

Patrick Mahomes has a very sore right ankle. Jalen Hurts has a bum right shoulder. Even so, neither quarterback is complaining in the lead up to Sunday’s NFL conference championship games. Mahomes went through a normal morning walkthrough Wednesday and then headed out for an afternoon practice, four days after a Jacksonville pass rusher landed on his ankle and forced him to hobble off the field in pain. The Chiefs host the Bengals in the AFC Championship on Sunday. Hurts said Wednesday that his shoulder is still sore, though he didn’t seem concerned. The Eagles will host the 49ers in the NFC Championship, also on Sunday. The winners of the conference title games will meet in the Super Bowl on Feb. 12 in Glendale, Arizona.

As writers covering the Cowboys, we don’t run the risk of tearing an ACL or leaving the press box on a stretcher for any reason beyond having eaten too many nachos. But we do bang our head against the wall a lot. And this is another day where we mostly settle for that. Some columns sound a call to action. Last summer when the Rangers fired Chris Woodward, a man most local sports fans wouldn’t ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert